European Travel Information and Authorization System
Latest ETIAS News

How will the ETIAS visa waiver be structured?

Etias Visa Waiver
ETIAS Europe
etias visa waiver

The European Commission confirmed that UK citizens could travel to European countries without visas after Brexit, provided they have valid ETIAS. After the Brexit implementation period has ended, all UK citizens who travel to or through the EU countries will need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver.

What is the ETIAS Process?

etias visa waiverHow do you obtain an ETIAS visa waiver? Once the ETIAS process has been fully operational, travelers who wish to enter the Schengen region will only need to fill out an online application. This will take less than 10 minutes and include their personal information, travel documents, and security questions.
After the applicant completes the ETIAS application and pays their fee, they will get their approved travel authorization email. This is valid until the expiration of the applicant’s passport, or the corresponding travel document, whichever comes first.

ETIAS as a New Visa Waiver for Europe

Non-EU nationals who are not required to obtain a visa for Schengen Area must register online for a waiver of visa. ETIAS will become operational in November 2023.

Visa-exempt travelers will be required to provide basic information and passport details. You will also need to answer safety and security questions. This information will be cross-checked to detect security threats with international security databases.

Travelers who are denied ETIAS will be unable to travel to the Schengen Area without a visa.

After the Brexit implementation period has ended, all UK citizens who travel to or through the EU countries will need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver.

The applicant’s passport links to the ETIAS visa waiver. The visa waiver is valid for three years or until the expiration of the passport, whichever comes first. Non-EU citizens will be able to visit the Schengen Area visa-free for as long as 90 days during 180 days with the approved ETIAS.

Who is behind ETIAS

It is important to understand the key players in the ETIAS structure. This includes those responsible for reviewing ETIAS applications, security check organizations, and others.
The ETIAS Europe system will be responsible for the security of Schengen and gathering information about travelers. Various governing bodies make up the ETIAS structure.
Multiple entities are going to manage the ETIAS organization, which consists of the following:etias visa waiver

  1. ETIAS Central Unit- This headquarters for ETIAS will store and update data from applications. They will be responsible for evaluating ETIAS screening requirements.
  2. ETIAS Nation Units- Each member state will have an ETIAS unit to handle applications that are referred through the automatic system to either grant or deny the ETIAS EU Visa Waiver.
  3. Europol will manage the ETIAS watchlist, which every application will consult.
  4. Eu-LISA – This entity manages the ETIAS Information System.
  5. ETIAS Screening Board- This Board is made up of representatives from Europol as well as each ETIAS National Unit. Therefore its role will assess risk indicators for ETIAS screening rules and impose an ETIAS watchlist.
  6. European Border and Coast Guard Agency. They work with the ETIAS Central Unit to ensure that the ETIAS restrictions and practices are followed.

ETIAS security checks

Each traveler who applies for the EU visa waiver must submit their information. This information will be subject to a security review that will include the following European security database:

  • SLTD: Interpol Stolen Travel Documents and Lost Travel Documents
  • Europol
  • SIS: Schengen Information System
  • VIS: Visa Information System
  • Eurodac
  • ECRIS: European Criminal Records Information System
  • EES: Entry/Exit Systems
  • ITDAWN: Interpol Travel Documents Associated with Notifications

Along with the ETIAS security database, there are also the ETIAS Screening Rules and the ETIAS watchlist. A hit on any one of these databases could result in rejection. The deciding entity doesn’t have to justify the decision when notifying the applicant. The traveler can appeal an ETIAS denial.
The ETIAS structure will allow the member countries of the Schengen area to grow their databases, offer a more structured system for travelers throughout Europe, and even a faster entry system.


What length of time is the ETIAS valid for?

ETIAS travel authorization can be renewed for up to three years. This allows unlimited eligible travel for up to 90 days during any 180 days. The fee will be charged to your account, and you will need to apply again.

How do I apply for an ETIAS visa waiver?

It will be an online application. The application will take approximately 10 minutes. You will need to provide details about your passport, criminal convictions, and medical conditions.

How do I know if my application was successful?

You should be able to determine, in most cases, whether your application was granted or denied. Sometimes, a delay of up to 4 weeks may occur for more complicated or exceptional applications.

What time do I have to apply?

The new system will not be available until December 2023, when the implementation period has ended. The UK can still travel freely to the EU with a passport and identity card until then.

The UK will no longer require visas for EU citizens after 2021. However, they will still need valid ETIAS.

What are some questions about the ETIAS application?

The passport number or travel document type, country of issue, and the type. The passport or travel document number, type, and expiry date. Name of the (first) member country to be visited.

Who needs an ETIAS visa waiver?

There are currently more than 50 nationalities that will need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver. However, more countries could be added in the future. It is essential to know that countries currently exempt from visas can still apply for an ETIAS visa waiver after November 2023. The only difference is that they must get a valid ETIAS with their passports.

To enter the Schengen Europe region, citizens from non-eligible nations will need to apply for a Schengen Europe visa. You can also apply for visas to study in Europe. ETIAS does not qualify as a visa.